SilverWav's Journal

The best is yet to come…

A simple alternative to Hacktheweb, aardvark, platypus or Tampermonkey.

with 7 comments

Because I hate ugly distracting cruft on websites. :-)

History:

I loved Platypus but moved on to Aardvark when it died, then created Hacktheweb to enable aardvark to save scripts to Stylish (recreating most of the platypus functionality with out the risks).

But while creating extensions can be a lot of fun, maintaining them… not so much.

Each time Stylish changes you need to update Hacktheweb to match. Tried that for a few years and… meh. So instead I just used Hacktheweb with the old 1.4.1.1 Stylish.

Also Hacktheweb was created on Firefox and I have moved to Chrome…

The Binding Flash of Inspiration:

But I had a revelation… Adblock Plus! Never really considered it after ruling it out a while ago (no widthify, no stylish, and I had hid the ABP button so out of sight out of mind).

But looking at it in this new light (looking for Simple, Quick and Good Enough, rather than Perfect).

The Benefits for me are:

No extra extensions, I am using ABP already, so no extra trust needed. Also backed by a big name developer.

ABP block element is quick and easy to use, as is transferring filters.

The Result:

Fantastic clean, distraction free, easy reading of my favourite web sites… without having to build and maintain my own extension.

Looks like a plan :-)

___________________________________________________

[25.07.2020] Update:

So yes life moves on :-)

All in on Apple these days, bought a 12.9 IPad Pro Dec 2017 and it’s the best computer I have owned.

I also purchased a stand, a Magic Keyboard and a Trackpad.

Now I have installed @AdGuard and it is just about perfect for my iPad & iPhone.

I found that I can block a part of a web site – like a header or sidebar that’s annoying me – so we have a winner.

Via a post at Macworld: macworld.co.uk/how-to/iosapps…

RSS Note:

I was using RSS but I have just moved over to TweetDeck.

Life moves on!

___________________________________________________


[07.04.2018] Update:

So 1st, check out the comments for a couple of extensions that others have recommended.

Next, on Windows I’m still using ABP & the block element function, because I trust them and use it as an Adblocker anyway.

Next, on IPad I have moved over to Safari on iPad solely because of Automatic Reader View.

It loads the page then Reader View kicks in, and I get just the text and main images, no ads no cruft. I use the iPad 2017 with a Logitech slim folio case, basically a 9.5in laptop with touch.

Any edge cases that the Reader View cant cope with I save to Pocket.

Too busy in RL so this is the best life hack to the web readability problems that I have ATM.

Cheers.

Written by SilverWav

July 21, 2015 at 3:09 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello, SilverWav. I found this page by searching for an extension similar to HackTheWeb, but for Chrome. I’ve been using Firefox since it was Firebird in 2003, but finally moved to Chrome a few years ago. I still have Firefox installed on my computers, but only because I can’t find two extensions on Chrome: HackTheWeb and Live Edit.

    When I found this page, I was super excited, especially when I read that you are have moved to Chrome, as well. I was hoping you were announcing a release of HackTheWeb on Chrome. I’m very glad that using APB is fine for you as a workaround, but do you have any plans to release HackTheWeb on Chrome? If not, do you know of extensions similar to HackTheWeb and Live Edit? Thank you.

    Victor L

    March 9, 2017 at 10:44 pm

    • Hi Victor, I have moved over to Safari on iPad and IPhone solely because of Automatic Reader View.
      It loads the page then Reader View kicks in, and I get just the text and main images, no ads no cruft. I use the iPad 2017 with a Logitech slim folio case, basically a 9.5in laptop with touch.
      Any edge cases that the Reader View cant cope with I save to Pokcket.

      Too busy in RL so this is the best life hack to the web readability problems that I have ATM.

      Cheers.

      SilverWav

      November 14, 2017 at 11:22 pm

  2. Hello! Hacktheweb is one of my five favorite Firefox extensions of all time – and I’ve been using FF since pre-1.0! With the Quantum update today, Hacktheweb became a legacy extension. It looks like you no longer maintain it. I see this 2.5-year-old comment about using Adblock Plus instead, but I highly prefer a standalone extension like Hacktheweb. Do you have any recommendations, for both Firefox and Chrome? Thanks!

    Vic

    November 14, 2017 at 10:51 pm

    • Hi Victor, I have moved over to Safari on iPad and IPhone solely because of Automatic Reader View.
      On Windows at work I still use Chrome and ABP.
      Cheers.

      SilverWav

      November 14, 2017 at 11:30 pm

  3. The Chrome / Firefox extension “Print Edit WE” appears to be a suitable replacement for Aardvark. (The Aardvark bookmarklet no longer works on HTTPS websites, because it tries to load HTTP resources from a HTTPS page – Chrome no longer allows “mixed content”.)

    Li-aung Yip

    March 30, 2018 at 6:59 am

  4. Ah the all mighty Hacktheweb!!! Though I found some fantastic replacement that do exactly the same in Chrome. One is Click to Remove Element and the other is Page Eraser. Check them out!

    Franc

    April 6, 2018 at 9:55 pm


Leave a comment