SilverWav's Journal

The best is yet to come…

RLB (rsync local backup) – keeping it simple

leave a comment »

Because backup should be easy…

A rsync/bash based backup solution with built-in report.

Set-up is just 3 questions… What to backup, where to save to, what to exclude… that’s it :)

SOURCE=/
DESTPATH=/backup/dr/Backups
EXCLUDEFILE=/backup/dr/myscripts/rlbackup1exclude.txt

Jump to: The Code
Jump to: The Report
Jump to: The Set-up
Jump to: Background

My Wish List.

I needed:

  • Reliability
  • Speed
  • Efficiency

I wanted:

  • Comprehensive Reporting
  • Simplicity
  • A file based system

My Conclusion.

After looking into different possibilities, I decided that rsync would do most of what I needed.
For the rest, I found that using bash, I could create the reporting features I wanted and make RLB easy to use.

This solution also meant that, in the event of a disaster, I would only be relying on proven tools, provided by default with most OS’s.

As a taster here is the actual rsync command that the script runs.


rsync -ahvv --log-file=/backup/dr/Backups/back-2008-09-06_18-18-50-LOGFILE.txt --link-dest=/backup/dr/Backups/current-0 --exclude-from=/backup/dr/myscripts/rlbackup1exclude.txt --stats / /backup/dr/Backups/back-2008-09-06_18-18-50

I think we can all agree that a script makes a good deal of sense in this case ;-)

Next

Jump to: The Code
Jump to: The Report
Jump to: The Set-up
Jump to: Background

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5

Written by SilverWav

January 15, 2010 at 7:39 am

Posted in Feature

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

